#WhereISeeYou

“I had heard of you by the hearing of the ear, but now my eye sees you…” Job 42:5

Covenant God of Israel, King of the desert storms, Majesty wrapped in darkness and commanding light:

I come to You today, wondering. How can my small mind grasp this mystery? The place of my greatest weakness is the very holy grail of my search. Here You unveil Your face.

In every sorrow, in every fire, in every storm, in every good thing You withhold and in every hard thing You allow, I confess: O Christ, I had heard of You with my ears, but now I have seen You my eyes.

In temptation to worry about my future and to walk hand-in-hand with fear, I see the God who cares for every sparrow, who owns every blade of grass, and who has promised to give me only what is for His kingdom and my good. I will turn my eyes on Your beautiful face, and the worries and successes of this world will dim in the light of Your glorious grace.

In temptation to anger and to be absorbed with my Self in community, I see the God who is the only righteous Judge, and the imperishable blood that has bought me. I will turn my eyes on Your beautiful face and my kingdom of self and the sins of others will dim in the light of Your glorious grace.

In temptation to fantasize about marriage, motherhood, or men, I see the God who satisfies, who is enough, who wins my heart, who is fairer than the sons of men. I will turn my eyes on Your beautiful face and Disney fairytales and the desires of this heart will dim in the light of Your glory and grace.

I will not fear suffering in my life or in the lives of others if You give me eyes to see You, Lord of glory and Lord of grace.

I choose to believe: every temptation could be an invitation into heaven. I choose to believe: in Christ, the eye of the storm funnels my gaze onto Shekinah glory.


I journalled this prayer during a week class on “Suffering” earlier this year. I was struck with the fact that Job’s suffering resulted in Him SEEING God like he never had before. It made me look again at my own life and the lives of my friends and wonder what God is up to when He brings unwanted mercies into our lives. I pray this blesses you too, friends.

Photo: flight through a rainstorm over the Congo forest.

Leave a Reply

